Racing Explained – The Races

Published on July 1, 2022

Popular references and posts about Classes Of Thoroughbred Races, Racing Explained – The Races.

The second programme in the eight part ‘Racing Explained’ series is entitled ‘The Races’. In this programme Ella McSweeney explains what a race meeting is all about as well as the difference between Flat and National Hunt racing.

The different types of flat racing are discussed. These are: the Flat Maiden, the Flat Handicap, the Conditions Race, the Listed Race, the Group 3 Race, the Group 2 race and the Group 1 Race. Ella then gives the viewer an insight into the twelve Group 1 races, including the five Classics held at the Curragh racecourse each year.

National Hunt racing is then explained race by race. National Hunt races are all run over distances of at least 2 miles. There are three types which are: the Steeplechase, the Hurdle and the Point-to-Point. This section includes an interesting history of the Steeple Chase. We also get a quick look at two of the major racecourses in Ireland: Galway and Leopardstown. Horse Racing Ireland provides full details of fixtures and races throughout the country on

Did you know?
-There are 26 racecourses in Ireland, each one with its own style and character (find them all on
-Horses have preferred courses, just like trainers.
-‘Furlong’ is a word you will normally only hear used in racing. It means 1/8 mile or 200 metres.
-Usually winners of Grade 1 races will become valuable stallions or brood mares at the end of their career.
-There are twelve Grade 1 races in Ireland.
-There are five Classics each year, all run at the Curragh racecourse, which is known as the ‘Home of the Classics’ — The 2000 and 1000 Guineas, the Derby, The Oaks and the St Leger.

Racing Explained - The Races

Racing Explained – The Races.

Racing Explained – The Races, Search trending guidance and videos top searched and Classes Of Thoroughbred Races, advice.

Enjoyed this video?
"No Thanks. Please Close This Box!"